Focus on writing – review of Trust

You are going to write a film review of the film ”Trust”. Prepare yourself with help of this work sheet. We will do this in class!

Make notes in the table below:

Setting(Where does the story take place?) 
Main characters(names; their attitudes to each other; their character traits
Problem(What is the main problem that the story deals with?)
Events(the main things that happen; how the characters try to resolve the problem(s))
Climax(What happens to bring about the ending?)
Ending 

Opinions

Ways to push your writing:

  • In other words…
  • That is…
  • The important thing about this is…
  • As I say this, I’m realizing…
  • This is giving me the idea that…
  • An example of this is…
  • This shows…
  • Another example of this is…
  • This connects to…
  • I see….
  • The thought I have about this is…
  • To add on….
  • The reason for this is…
  • Another reason is…
  • This is important because…
  • On the other hand…
  • This is similar to…
  • This is different than…

Giving an opinion

  •  I think/I don’t think…
  • Personally, I believe…
  • I feel…
  • In my opinion…
  • If you ask me…
  • As I see it…
  • I must tell you…

Agreeing

  • That’s right.
  • I think you’re absolutely right.
  • That’s true.
  • I totally agree with you.
  • I feel the same.

Disagreeing

  • No, I don’t think that’s quite right.
  • That’s not true.
  • I’m not sure I agree with you.
  • I don’t see it that way.
  • I totally disagree with what you said.

Questions

  • What do you think of….?
  • What is your opinion on….?
  • How do you feel about….?
  • What do you mean exactly?
  • Can you give me an example of what you mean?
  • What are you trying to say?

Other useful words and phrases

  • First of all…
  • To begin with….
  • However…
  • On the contrary….
  • On the other hand…
  • Finally….
  •  Naturally…
  • Of course…
  • Fortunately….
  • Unfortunately…
  • Let me put it this way:…
  •  For this reason…
  • Because of this/that…
  • Therefore…

A movie review contains the following parts:

Introduction
title of the movie
the director’s name
the year the movie was made
type of movie

Thoughts on the movie
description of the main characters and events
how the characters change by the end
what the main theme is and how it is filmed
what you like and dislike about the movie motivate yourself

Summary
a brief summary of the review as a whole

 

Bedömning: we will write examples together from your texts

 Nivå 1 2 3
Ordförråd
Grammatik
Textbindning (och, eller)
Flyt
Strategier
Stavning

 

Kommentera

